Monday Wrap-up and Goals for the Week

From a work perspective, I’ve never experienced a week like this one before. A roller coaster of work, emotion, feeling overwhelmed, feeling empowered. End result: going in to today I have a much larger staff and scope of responsibility.

I haven’t blogged as much as I’d like but I’m still here, still have many post ideas, and will continue to do my best to get them articulated.

In the meantime, let’s look at last week’s goals and see how I did.

  • Yard Sale – I got my items in order only for it to rain on Saturday and my dad’s POA postponed the sale! But the work is done and my stuff will be out for sale next Saturday. Check out my tips for a great yard sale that I’ve learned over the years.
  • Income tax return — honestly, it was pretty much a wash and my return was insignificant. I splurged and bought a new office chair from Office Depot (for about 50% on sale and with a coupon) and some cheap fishing gear.
  • Budget — I began my budget in an Excel workbook. Not the most robust, but something to work with this month. I’m not thrilled with Microsoft Money, honestly, and want to check out some of the 8 Free Personal Finance Management Programs that Consumerist, and their commenters, discuss to see if I can find one that’s a good fit for me.

It’s a new month and a new week. In my mind, the last couple of weeks have just been a warm-up for my serious effort of debt reduction. Had to loosen the muscles up, do a few calisthenics, stretch this one or that. Now it’s time to start the steady workout.

Goals for this week:

  • Explore personal finance software packages
  • Decide which method of debt reduction makes the most sense for “me” (i.e. for readers of other personal finance blogs and books, snowball versus high interest rate methods of prioritizing which accounts to pay down, which I’ll be discussing later in the week)
  • Have some fun! If this week is going to be anything like last week, I need to make sure to build in fun and leave the workday behind me.

Well, my coffee is getting cold and it’s about time to get ready for work. Time to take on a new week!

    Leave a Reply

